Blog tour

Today is Blog Tour. This blog tour is where writers and authors answer questions about their writing process. My friend and critique partner, Debbie Nance, posted hers last week. You can check out her writing process here: Debbie Nance

Without further delay, this is how the Story Juggler works.

What am I working on?

I’m rewriting a YA biopunk novel. Biopunk is a sub-genre of science fiction where the story is set in a future biotechnology world, think genetics, epigenetics, and nanotech. My story merges several of my loves; biotech, sports, and juggling.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

There is more science. I have a doctorate in molecular biology/biochemistry and am disappointed by stories that barely explain the how and why things happen. My goal is to explain the science in my story.

The other way my work differs is it’s a mash up of genetics and extreme sports. I know there are quite a few genetics stories, but I haven’t read much Sci-Fi that use sports (compared to the glut of military and dystopian settings) for world building.

Why do I write what I do?

Two reasons. First, I’m a science geek and have always been attracted to the wonders of nature. Second, as a kid I used to day dream while I walked the acres of my Grandfather’s farm. Whether it was fighting alongside Aragorn in The Lord of the Rings or flying a Viper as Starbuck’s wing mate (the guy, not the girl. I’m an old school Battlestar Galatica fan), I created stories where I was the hero. Writing stories came later after reading Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. I loved the book and thought I could write my own stories. It’s taken me a long time to become a fair writer, but now I write every day, capturing the characters and stories that I imagine.

How does your writing process work? 

I have a full time job so I had to master the ability to write on demand. With all that’s going on in my life (father of eight, biotech scientist, writer, etc.), all I get is ten minutes here, or ten minutes there. If I manage to find an hour for writing, I consider that a gift and may take on Gollum-like obsession to protect it.

As I wrote in my first post, Welcome, I write short. I sketch out the basic story and get the idea, voice, and dialogue down as quick as I can. Next I go back and add the layers of setting, plot, and character. Much like the painter, each draft gets more distinct until the final work is finished. It takes a lot of time, but in the end it works for me.

That’s my writing process.

Next week, October 21, three of my writing and twitter friends will be posting their Blog Tours. I’m posting their links below. They’re fantastic people and writers so check them out!

YA author of The Prophecy which debuts in November 2013, Erin Albert Blog Link: http://www.erinalbertbooks.com/erins-blog.html

NA fantasy/paranormal romance writer and Goddess of Dragons, Melissa A. Petreshock, http://www.melissapetreshock.com/ramblings-of-the-dragon-writer.html

Zara’s debut novel, The Belgrave Daughter, releases today (10/14).  http://zarahoffman.com/blog.html

14 thoughts on “Blog tour

  1. I’m a wannabe science geek but, alas my math scores ruined that chance. Still, it’s interesting to read about. I’m impressed that you can do this all with 8 kids. My three keep me hopping. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

